Iranian, Turkish presidents congratulate Shehbaz Sharif on becoming PM

Iranian, Turkish presidents congratulate Shehbaz Sharif on becoming PM

PML-N’s Shehbaz Sharif was elected as country’s 24th prime minister a day earlier

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif can be seen with Iran’s President Ebrahim Raisi (left) and Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. — APP/File 
  • Erdogan believes Pak-Turkey relations will deepen.
  • Also addresses regional, global issues with Shehbaz. 
  • Raisi expresses determination to strengthen bond.

The presidents of Iran and Turkey congratulated Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Shehbaz Sharif for being elected as the country’s prime minister for the second time, Radio Pakistan reported Monday. 

Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, in a telephonic conversation, facilitated Shehbaz, expressing his belief that relations between Ankara and Islamabad will deepen and expand during the new period.

The call also addressed Turkey-Pakistan relations, as well as regional and global issues.

Meanwhile, Iran’s President Ebrahim Raisi also congratulated Shehbaz Sharif on his election as the prime minister of Pakistan.

In his felicitation message, he expressed determination to further strengthen the relationship between both Islamic brotherly countries.

He expressed a desire that the new government would put all out efforts for the betterment of people and the country as well. Raisi said that both countries will work together to strengthen bilateral relations.

A day earlier, the National Assembly elected Shehbaz Sharif as the 24th elected prime minister of the country after he bagged 201 votes with the support of his party and seven other allies. 

He enjoyed the support of seven other parties i.e. Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Pakistan Muslim League-Zia (PML-Z), Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) and National Party (NP).

His opponent, Sunni Ittehad Council’s (SIC) Omar Ayub Khan, could only receive 92 votes in the election. 

This is the second consecutive time Shehbaz has been elected the prime minister. The newly-elected premier will take oath today.

He was elected as Pakistan’s 23rd premier after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) founder Imran Khan was voted out of power via a no-confidence motion in 2022.

He remained the prime minister from April 11, 2022, to August 2023, and handed the reins of the government to a caretaker setup. 

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
Scroll to Top
Donald Trump Could Be Bitcoin’s Biggest Price Booster: Experts USWNT’s Olympic Final Standard Warren Buffett and Berkshire Hathaway Annual Meeting Highlights What to see in New York City galleries in May Delhi • Bomb threat • National Capital Region • School